10th Sustainable Mountain Development Summit

Darjeeeling-Kalimpong

18th - 20th November 2021

Declaration at the Mountain Legislators' Meet 2021



We, the representatives and former representatives of various elected bodies of the Himalayan States, Union Territories and districts of India, having heard, discussed and deliberated on several important issues of the Indian Himalayan Region, especially on the pathways for plastic waste management in the region, collectively do hereby:

- 1. Acknowledge that there is an urgent need for bringing about stringent policies and legislation agains Single Use Plastics due to the fragile Himalayan ecosystem and resolve to commit to the vision of a Zero Waste Himalaya.
- 2. **Support** the Central government's call to eliminate Single Use Plastics (SUP) and take measures for eradicating SUPs in the Indian Himalayan Region by urging our state governments, Union Territory administrations, district councils, traditional institutions and other civic bodies for sustained cooperation and collaboration in a serious fight against plastic pollution.

- 1. **Advocate** for Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) to be made feasible to the mountain states by addressing the specificities of mountain economy and bringing in commitment from the industry
- 2. **Facilitate** and support the contextualisation of all waste management rules to be sensitive and acknowledge the regional specific issues and challenges of mountain/hill states. players.
- 3. **Engage** relevant stakeholders to take proactive steps to explore solutions for a sustainable tourism in the Indian Himalayan Region which is possible only with arrest of the existing waste crisis and reducing plastic pollution in the region.

Placed on record at the Mountain Legislators' Meet 2021 held in Darjeeling on 20th November 2021.

(Vincent Pala, MP) (HM Shangpliang, MLA) (ST Venchungpa, MLA) (Miani Shira, MLA) (Pravat Chowdhury, MLA) (Tashi Gyalson, CEC, LAHDC) (Sunil Uniyal Gama, Mayor, Dehradun) (Kishore Upadhyay, former MLA, Uttarakhand) (KT Gyaltsen, former MLA/Speaker) (Rigzin Spalbar, fmr CEC, LAHDC)

and approved via virtual confirmation:

- 1. Dr Sanjay Jaiswal, MP and Chairman, Standing Committee on Water Resources
- 2. Shri Chowna Mein, Deputy CM, Arunachal Pradesh
- 3. Shri James Sangma, Minister (Environment and Forest, Govt of Meghalaya
- 4. Smt Agatha Sangma, MP (Meghalaya)
- 5. Shri M Kikon, MLA, Nagaland and Advisor, Dept of New and Renewable Energy
- 6. Shri Ninong Ering, MLA Arunachal Pradesh
- 7. Shri Mutchu Mithi, MLA Arunachal Pradesh
- 8. Shri Pushpendra Tripathi, former MLA, Uttarakhand